40

As the title says: Is a 1st-level spell cast using a 4th-level slot a 1st-level spell, or a 4th-level spell?

V2Blast
  • 49,864
  • 10
  • 220
  • 304
Dale M
  • 210,673
  • 42
  • 528
  • 889
  • 2
    Gonna show this to my group the next time they say that their Dispel Magic should've automatically ended a spell ordinarily of a lower level that was cast at a higher slot – Tophandour Nov 02 '16 at 17:45
  • 1
    @Tophandour just remember this was not the case in 3.5 - they have a reason to think what they think. It may be a habit, not ignorance or neglect. – Mołot Nov 03 '16 at 11:14
  • Right. We still have a couple things of that sort floating around that we're trying to get rid of. – Tophandour Nov 03 '16 at 11:29

2 Answers2

71

The spell is a 4th level spell. (PHB, p.201)

Casting a Spell at a Higher Level

When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. For instance, if Umara casts magic missile using one of her 2nd-level slots, that magic missile is 2nd level. Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into.

Miniman
  • 144,275
  • 45
  • 644
  • 782
  • Is there any difference between a spell that "can" be casted as higher level (for extra damage, more targets, etc) with a spell that you cast using a higher slot? I mean, you can use your level 9 slot to cast a level 1 spell that it will not be more powerful for doing this. When it comes to Dispel o Counter for example, is this the same thing, right? – Kelhendros Nov 08 '16 at 19:47
  • 1
    @Kelhendros Any spell can be cast using a higher level slot, and some spells gain specific benefits from it. – Miniman Nov 08 '16 at 21:38
  • Actually only any spell that uses a slot can be cast using a higher level. And only some of those gain benefit from it. You can't up cast cantrips or spells from items.. – Rubiksmoose Jan 23 '18 at 01:55
  • However they would still get the additional protection from Dispel Magic and Counterspell for having used the higher level slot. – illustro Mar 28 '19 at 10:13
  • @illustro Though upcasting does not penetrate Globe of Invulnerability, strangely enough. – T.J.L. Mar 29 '19 at 13:04
  • @T.J.L. I don't see why it wouldn't. If I cast Fireball using a 7th level slot it is a 7th level spell for the purposes of globe of invulnerability and would affect creatures inside the globe. – illustro Mar 29 '19 at 13:16
  • Do you have a reference that states otherwise in the rules? – illustro Mar 29 '19 at 13:16
  • @illustro Because the text says it doesn't - "[...] even if the spell is cast using a higher level spell slot. " – T.J.L. Mar 29 '19 at 13:16
  • That would be a case of specific beats general then not a general rule. It's also a distinction I missed when I read over it quickly there. – illustro Mar 29 '19 at 13:18
  • @illustro Yes, yes it would. I tagged you because it was related to something you said, but mostly it was for the answerer, if he wanted to mention the a known (or maybe not known to some people) specific caveat in his answer. – T.J.L. Mar 29 '19 at 13:19
37

4th.

PHB Page 201 says

When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting.

Joel Harmon
  • 16,049
  • 3
  • 59
  • 91