0

I know that it’s possible to cast spells with a higher level spell slot than what it’s original spell level requires and several spells even give extra benefits for doing so. What I was wondering is if you cast a spell with a higher level spell slot, does the spell become the same level as the spell slot.

For example is someone casts Scorching Ray (a second level spell) with a seventh level spell slot, would the resulting spell be a seventh level spell or a second level spell? I’m curious about this because I want to know how things like counter spell and dispel magic interact with this mechanic.

Thanks!

Destruktor
  • 6,235
  • 1
  • 36
  • 74
Josh
  • 25
  • 2
  • Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the [tour] if you haven't already, and check out the [help] for more guidance. – V2Blast Apr 01 '19 at 20:56

1 Answers1

5

The spell assumes the higher level for that casting

This is explained in the Basic Rules under the Spellcasting section:

When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. For instance, if Umara casts magic missile using one of her 2nd-level slots, that magic missile is 2nd level.

David Coffron
  • 74,667
  • 14
  • 306
  • 503