I was wondering if there's a rule against casting 2 cantrips on the same turn, one as an action and another one as a bonus action, to be more specific I'm playing a grave domain cleric and I was wondering if I can use let's say Toll the Dead (as an action) and Spare the Dying to stabilize a party member (as a bonus action) due to the "Circle of Mortality" feature that allows me to use that one cantrip as a bonus action.
Asked
Active
Viewed 4,397 times
9
-
Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the [tour] if you did not do it already, and in case you need further guidance for posting questions and/or answer visit [help]! Happy gaming! – Eddymage Dec 28 '20 at 08:32
-
1Related: Which uses of Bonus-Action spellcasting are legal? – Sdjz Dec 28 '20 at 10:52
-
Thank you, that does answer my question. – Belgoriun Dec 28 '20 at 14:34
1 Answers
7
The spell casting rules (PHB, page 202) say
Bonus Action A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
Hence, your case falls exactly under this rule: in your turn you cast Spare the dying whose casting time is a bonus action (thanks to your domain), moreover you can still cast Toll the dead, since it is a cantrip and it has a casting time of one action.
Eddymage
- 28,645
- 3
- 76
- 150