15

So a Pit Fiend has a neat little thing called a fear aura. Essentially if you start in it, you have to make a save or be frightened. We know from a related question that the rules for combining effects would require a creature subjected to this aura from two Pit Fiends would only roll one save. But the Fear Aura also says:

If a creature's saving throw is successful, the creature is immune to the pit fiend's Fear Aura for the next 24 hours."

Does this mean a creature that successfully passes its saving throw would be immune to the aura from other pit friends, too?

Rykara
  • 29,502
  • 7
  • 108
  • 199
user60792
  • 658
  • 1
  • 6
  • 15

2 Answers2

19

Only if the feature says you are immune to the effect from all creatures of that type.

The Pit Fiend’s fear aura ability reads:

If a creature's saving throw is successful, the creature is immune to the pit fiend's Fear Aura for the next 24 hours.

You would only be immune to the particular pit fiend’s ability. An ability explicitly states if saving against it immunizes you against the same ability from all creatures of that type. For example, the Krasis’ hypnotic display ability says:

A creature that succeeds on a saving throw against this effect becomes immune to the Hypnotic Display of all krasis for 24 hours.

Thomas Markov
  • 148,772
  • 29
  • 842
  • 1,137
1

If you fail a save from a Pit Fiend's Fear Aura, you are Frightened

Yes, you have to make a save against each individual creature that has the fear aura.

No being immune to one fear aura does not make you immune to the other fear auras.

However.. If you look at the description of Frightened, you will see that the effects do not stack. If you have Disadvantage, then you just have it. It does not stack. But you would be unwilling to approach each individual cteatute who's save you have failed.

A frightened creature has disadvantage on ability checks and attack rolls while the source of its fear is within line of sight. The creature can't willingly move closer to the source of its fear.

Note: the combined spell effects does not apply here because the aura has a particular effect specific to each creature. Which is that you can't willingly move closer to that individual.

Thomas Markov
  • 148,772
  • 29
  • 842
  • 1,137
Sam Lacrumb
  • 10,954
  • 6
  • 47
  • 126
  • 3
    Game feature's with the same name do not stack, so I do not think you can be frightened of more than one creature at the same time if those creature's are all using the same feature. – Thomas Markov Nov 18 '21 at 18:15
  • I think you're correct that you have to make a save against each aura, but I don't think they can both affect you at the same time, just the "most potent" one while their durations overlap. – InternetHobo Mar 19 '23 at 07:24