Can my character cast the spell Haste on himself or can it only be cast on another character?
Asked
Active
Viewed 3,053 times
5
-
2Related: "Can a character use Healing Word on themselves?", "Can a character cast Bless on themselves?", and "Can I only touch other creatures with spells such as Invisibility?" – Exempt-Medic Nov 30 '19 at 20:36
1 Answers
28
Yes, you can
The spell merely requires a willing creature you can see within range.
And, as per the rules of spellcasting, you are indeed a willing creature. So unless the spell specifically states a creature other than yourself, then you can cast Haste (etc) on yourself.
Targeting Yourself
If a spell targets a creature of your choice, you can choose yourself, unless the creature must be hostile or specifically a creature other than you. If you are in the area of effect of a spell you cast, you can target yourself.
iaminsensible
- 2,925
- 2
- 15
- 36
PJRZ
- 28,181
- 2
- 90
- 127