5

I'm planning a MoUH as dungeon boss for my campaign and I was figuring out this kickass fling mage in a black cloak that has at first a huge object hidden in straps on his back. Suddenly he levitates away while swinging this huge "chunk of metal" (quote intended) with his bare mind. I must say that regardless of the rules I'm gonna do it but I was wondering what kind of malus I should give him.

(The -4 was only my guess, I know that RAW you can't wield a Huge sized Greatsword or something like that but only because you don't have big enough hands, which telekinesis doesn't need)

SevenSidedDie
  • 243,609
  • 44
  • 785
  • 1,025

1 Answers1

1

Maybe Probably Yes

The only limit on wielding a weapon telekintetically is the weight limit of whatever telekinesis effect the wielder is using.

However, see the following line:

...can make a single attack with an unattended weapon or one he is holding, moving the weapon up to 20 feet before the attack. Resolve the attack as normal, except that the weapon's movement doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity....

The bold part implies - but not states - that it should be a weapon normally sized for the wielder.

If that statement is determined to not impede this amusing and fun-sounding idea, I do not believe that there is anything else in the class or rules which would prevent the telekinetic from using as big and bad a chunk of metal as they can find.

Bonus points if you have an array of extra objects for selection choice: giant golf club, a pillar from a holy temple (bonus holy damage, right?), the arm off of a titanic statue, an entire suit of armor, random assortment of fish (long-ago robotech campaign reference), an anvil, an anchor, a bathtub, a small boat, a kitchen sink, and so forth.


Also, as a side comment, the Master of the Unseen Hand is one of the very few "mage" classes that a psionicist can actually and legally qualify for as written, making it one of my personal favorites. I managed to make a D&D version of a Jedi once partly using this class.

nijineko
  • 11,615
  • 24
  • 55
  • Actually, it says either unattended, or one he is holding. I don't see the implication that the weapon must be sized for you as a very strong one; it's really only saying that you can't take a weapon carried or held by someone else. Regarding the improvised weapons you mention... as long as they fit within the limits of the TK spell/MotUH ability, yep. – Chemus May 24 '18 at 17:55
  • I reeeally like your suggestions, in fact my first idea was to have a big statue and the mage would have ripped off the stone greatsword in the hand of the statue. – YED - Yellow Endless Dog May 24 '18 at 23:04
  • @Chemus I agree with you actually. I was simply stating that due to the wildly varying interpretations we see rules get put through that it "could" be interpreted that way... though perhaps I should have made it more clear that I absolutely would not do so myself. – nijineko May 25 '18 at 01:14