A wizard casts misty step (a 2nd-level bonus action spell) to get to an advantageous position.
The rules state that if you want to cast another spell with your action this turn, it has to be a 1-action cantrip. However, the wizard wants to cast silent image.
Can the wizard use the Ready action on the silent image spell so that the spell is cast in the same round, but not the same turn?
The rules say that readying a spell requires you to cast it as normal, and when the trigger comes you just release the energy, meaning you have to concentrate until then. I would rule that the spell is thus cast on the same turn, even if its energy is released on a different turn, so it would be against the rule.