2

Say for example that a Human Wizard were to cast a Fire Bolt cantrip, and the natural roll was a 17, and with modifiers, a 20. Does that count as a critical hit, after the crit roll?

SevenSidedDie
  • 243,609
  • 44
  • 785
  • 1,025
keremal
  • 251
  • 1
  • 4
  • 6

1 Answers1

18

No.

As described here in the official 5e (basic) rules:

If the d20 roll for an attack is a 20, the attack hits regardless of any modifiers or the target’s AC. This is called a critical hit, which is explained later in this chapter.

Mala
  • 12,499
  • 11
  • 68
  • 111