Use a Ring of Spell Storing
Since your premise removes time as a factor, you can expend spells from a ring of spell storing and (depending on how your DM rules such things) potentially trigger the Tides of Chaos when that spell is cast. (How confident are you on rolling that 1 on a 1d20?)
The spells are prepped (typically during down time) and then off you go on an adventure with a loaded ring.
Wild Magic Surge says (PHB p. 103)
... your spell casting can unleash surges of untamed magic.
Immediately after you cast a sorcerer spell ... the DM can have you
roll a d20.
From the Ring of Spell Storing item description (SRD V_5.1, p. 237) :
While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it.