Say you have a level 1 character (so a proficiency bonus of +2) and that character is proficient in ranged martial weapons and they have a dexterity of 16 (+3). If they attack using a longbow then they add 5 to their attack roll. But for damage do they add 5 or do damage rolls just include the ability modifier of +3?
Asked
Active
Viewed 5,334 times
2
-
Ah so you don't add proficiency to damage? – JudgeArmada Jan 14 '17 at 17:43
-
Correct. Proficiency only ever adds to rolls with the 20-sided die (attacks, skills, abilities, saves, etc) – Erik Jan 14 '17 at 18:10
-
Related: How do I figure the dice and bonuses for attack rolls and damage rolls? – MikeQ Feb 27 '20 at 15:29