7

This (excellent!) answer mentions that a Wizard must specialize in Abjuration in order to qualify for Incantatrix. I can't find this rule - as far as I can tell, the only restriction is that the Wizard cannot have Abjuration as a banned school.

From Player's Guide to Faerûn, p. 61:

Special: The candidate cannot have abjuration as a prohibited school.

However, KRyan's expertise on the subject, plus 3.5's tendency to put important rules in weird places, leads me to wonder if this might be a rule I missed somehow.

So, does a Wizard who wants to be an Incantatrix have to specialize in Abjuration?

A_S00
  • 12,560
  • 4
  • 39
  • 77

1 Answers1

9

No, it doesn’t; I just misremembered that detail. (Note: I have since fixed it.)

Note that incantatrix appears in both Magic of Faerûn and Player’s Guide to Faerûn—with fairly significant changes between printings—and it doesn’t require that you be an abjurer in either.

KRyan
  • 350,913
  • 58
  • 915
  • 1,459
  • 3
    Per the Magic Of Faerûn version: "In effect, the incantatrix is a specialist in the school of abjuration (gaining all the benefits of specializing in a school), and the incantatrix must choose an additional school or schools..." This is gained as a feature, not a prerequisite though. The Player’s Guide to Faerûn version may not have abjuration banned, and must ban an additional school at first level. So, both versions are very closely tied to abjuration specialization, even though it's not prerequisite. – fectin Jan 13 '17 at 04:19