6

I want to introduce my group to a Large creature that uses a bow. Does this Large creature's Large bow have a longer range than the typical bow?

Does an official rule cover this, or must I make a house rule?

Hey I Can Chan
  • 191,258
  • 18
  • 357
  • 866
Binochio
  • 1,302
  • 1
  • 10
  • 26

1 Answers1

6

In Pathfinder, ranged weapon range is not affected by weapon size. While it is difficult to conclusively confirm this, a search of the Equipment section in the core rulebook reveals that the section on weapon size makes no statements regarding adjusting range or range increments.

As Hey I Can Chan mentioned, this was a rule in D&D 3.0 (and since Pathfinder is based on 3.5, it was never a part of Pathfinder).

Cellion
  • 4,149
  • 20
  • 36
  • Thank you for the answer. Anyway, would you make a rule for this specific situation ? – Binochio Oct 11 '16 at 13:49
  • @Binochio If you want to make a house-rule to add this back in, check out the link in Hey I Can Chan's comment to your question above. In D&D3.0, increasing or decreasing the size of a weapon changed its range increment by 25% for each size change away from medium. – Cellion Oct 11 '16 at 13:58