7

I am currently Playing a Monk 8/ Rogue 4 The Rogue is an Assassin. pg97 of the PHB says that for assassinate the move

In addition, any hit you score against a creature that is surprised is a critical hit

I attacked a surprise creature with my flurry of blows from the Monk giving me 4 hits. Since the passage on Surprise in chapter 9 doesnt specify how many attacks count for "surprised" my DM ruled that only the first hit was a critical. My argument was that Assassinate uses the word "all" for the hits.

So who is correct via RAW?

SevenSidedDie
  • 243,609
  • 44
  • 785
  • 1,025
MC_Hambone
  • 7,131
  • 9
  • 45
  • 84

1 Answers1

3

Your DM is wrong (except that, as DM, they can't be).

A creature is surprised until the end of its first turn. If you beat its initiative, then every attack you successfully make is a critical hit. If you lose initiative, then it isn't surprised on your turn and you lose that benefit of surprise.

KorvinStarmast
  • 143,146
  • 34
  • 471
  • 760
Dale M
  • 210,673
  • 42
  • 528
  • 889