11

If a rogue with flying ends their turn 5 ft above someone, does that mean the target cannot move without provoking an attack of opportunity (and thus, a potential Sneak Attack)?

The two parties are already engaged in combat, so all pursuant rules apply. Also, I realize they can spend their action to Disengage, but the question still holds.

SevenSidedDie
  • 243,609
  • 44
  • 785
  • 1,025
Sawyer
  • 4,170
  • 3
  • 18
  • 38

1 Answers1

11

Yes

I'm not sure why there is any doubt about this:

You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach.

If the putative rogue has a reach of 5 feet or more, a reaction available and the target is visible then if the target leave's the rogue's reach using their own movement then they rogue can launch an Attack of Opportunity.

Dale M
  • 210,673
  • 42
  • 528
  • 889
  • 1
    The only doubt was due to the not knowing if flight affected the results in any way. Thank you. – Sawyer Jan 17 '16 at 23:06
  • 1
    What is it in the rules on flying that led you to this doubt? – Dale M Jan 18 '16 at 00:51
  • 3
    Unfamiliarity with the rules can lead one to verify that they are not making an assumption based on insufficient knowledge. I.e. You don't know what you don't know. I don't think the "I'm not sure why there is any doubt about this" adds anything useful to the answer. – keithcurtis Jan 20 '18 at 23:05