6

The banishment spell allows me to send a creature to another harmless plane of existence, where it is incapacitated.

Assuming that all of the creature's equipment travel with it, what other non-equipped objects would travel with it? For example, a creature bound by rope: does the rope go with it or would it be freed when the spell ends?

Premier Bromanov
  • 18,655
  • 16
  • 80
  • 133
  • Update: DM ruled the rope as part of the PC's equipment and that it would have traveled with him, had I the opportunity to do what I had planned. – Premier Bromanov Oct 12 '15 at 21:09

2 Answers2

4

The rules do not attempt to address every possible situation, and this is one that they don't. The DM should make a ruling, and that's how it works.

Derek Stucki
  • 27,659
  • 8
  • 96
  • 128
1

You attempt to send one creature that you can see within range to another plane of existence.

You need to draw the line where it makes sense to you, the extremes are:

  • The creature goes naked,
  • The creature and everything it is touching goes.
Dale M
  • 210,673
  • 42
  • 528
  • 889
  • 2
    The creature and everything it's touching isn't quite the other extreme. I think it's reasonable, for example, to allow the contents of bags and pockets to go, too, if the bag or pocket goes. That extreme seems to be that the creature and everything in its possession goes, potentially including land holdings, bonded persons, etc. – Please stop being evil Oct 08 '15 at 03:25
  • So if you transit its land holdings one hour after he's banished, do you come upon a gaping hole, or does the land just "close up" like 12 Grimmauld Place, so you step from his east neighbor's land to his west neighbor's in one step? – Harper - Reinstate Monica Dec 12 '18 at 23:47