I had a question about 'Great Weapon Fighting' as it applied to Paladins, which lead me here: Does Great Weapon Fighting apply to Superiority Die rolls? During my research. While the answer cleared up my original question, I have a follow up question.
First, my question: When rolling for Great Weapon Fighting style as a Paladin, does the differentiation detailed below mean I can continue to re-roll all 1's and 2's until I get a 3 or higher?
Secondly, the differentiation: I noticed there is a variance between the Great Weapon Fighting entry in the Fighter listing on PHB pg 72 :
When you roll a 1 or 2 on a damage die for an attack you make with a melee weapon that you are wielding with two hands, you can re-roll the die and must use the new roll, even if the new roll is a 1 or a 2. The weapon must...
Emphasis on the differentiation from the entry, of the same Great Weapon Fighting style, found in the Paladin listing on PHB pg 84 :
When you roll a 1 or 2 on a damage die for an attack you make with a melee weapon that you are wielding with two hands, you can reroll the die and must use the new roll. [missing] The weapon must...
This particular entry is missing the crucial "even if the new roll is a 1 or a 2." This particular entry says, you may reroll any 1's or 2's and must use the new roll period .
This is more than likely a typo, as some do exist in the version of the PHB I have when it first came out. If anyone has any errata/newer versions of the PHB and can see if the full entry exists under Paladin please let me know in comments or in your answer should you submit one.
rothing is mentioned on the Dice Reference page. – V2Blast Jan 08 '21 at 02:22