11

Let's say my party member is around 30 feet in front of me and engaged with a monster in melee close combat.

If I successfully cast Thorn Whip and pull the monster 10 feet closer to me, will this generate an opportunity attack for my party member who is next to the monster?

SevenSidedDie
  • 243,609
  • 44
  • 785
  • 1,025
Maadiah
  • 3,609
  • 9
  • 24
  • 48
  • 1
    This question was asked 2 years and 7 months ago, so this is not a duplicate. The questiuon Rubiksmoose is refering to was asked yerterday – Maadiah Apr 21 '18 at 18:14

1 Answers1

21

No, this won't generate opportunity attacks. The rules on opportunity attacks include this clause:

You also don’t provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction.

If a creature doesn't use its own movement, or its own action, it doesn't cause opportunity attacks.

Miniman
  • 144,275
  • 45
  • 644
  • 782