3

The Adventurer's Vault states that the spiked shield:

can be enchanted as a magic shield or a magic weapon, but not both. A spiked shield enchanted as a magical weapon does not occupy a character's magic item arms slot. (pg.10)

This is unclear about whether it also takes up a "weapons" slot.

Could I wield an enchanted spiked shield on one arm and hold a magical weapon in the respective hand? I'm aware I couldn't attack with the weapon, but it may be useful for its property.

E.g. would a character wearing a rhythm blade spiked shield and holding a quicksilver dagger on the same limb benefit from both their respective properties?

Purple Monkey
  • 56,893
  • 18
  • 243
  • 314
Selekate
  • 1,692
  • 15
  • 18

1 Answers1

6

Yes, it takes up that hand's weapon slot (because it already did).

Basically, you can either have an enchanted shield or an enchanted arm slot item. You can also have a weapon in each hand.

You can't wield another item in that hand (you can hold an item, but not wield it). Thus you can't otherwise wield a magic weapon in that hand so you've got that.

The only thing this rule does is allow for a magic arm slot item when you otherwise would not be able to have one (because you're wearing a magic shield).

wax eagle
  • 104,128
  • 19
  • 375
  • 461
  • 1
    To clarify, items held in your hands usually do not take up your arms slot; Your arms slot is more for bracers and stuff like that. I suspect the reason for pointing out that magical shields don't take up an arms slot is because shields are strapped to your arm and some players might wonder about it. – GMJoe Apr 16 '15 at 00:50
  • 2
    @GMJoe not quite. Magical shields normally take up your arm slot. If this shield is enchanted as a weapon, it doesn't – wax eagle Apr 16 '15 at 00:51
  • Gah, you're right - I should've proofread and fact-checked. – GMJoe Apr 16 '15 at 01:17
  • Thanks! If I can't wield a weapon, would an implement work for granting a property? E.g., rhythm blade spiked shield, bracers of mighty striking, rod of corruption. Also - can I use the power of an item that I'm holding, but not wielding? Bradaman's weapon, for example. – Selekate Apr 16 '15 at 21:09
  • 1
    @selekate I'd have to check the wording, but probably not. Most things usually say "wield" rather than "hold". That said you can use your other hand to wield another weapon. – wax eagle Apr 16 '15 at 21:16
  • @Selekate Rhythm Blade's effect specifically says 'wield'. If you have the shield enchanted as a rhythm blade, then that's fine because you're wielding it, however shield bonuses don't stack. If you have a rhythm dagger in that same hand, you won't get the bonus because you're not wielding it. – DCShannon Apr 17 '15 at 01:24