2

The rule I'm used to from previous editions is that a character with a companion such as a familiar must choose whether to use their Move and Action themselves or have their summoned creature use it. From the answer here (What can a familiar actually do?) I'm getting the sense that the familiar has an action of its own. Is this the case?

kevin.matheny
  • 2,858
  • 2
  • 23
  • 30

1 Answers1

3

From the Find Familiar entry:

In combat, it rolls its own initiative and acts on its own turn. A familiar can’t attack, but it can take other actions as normal.

A familiar is an independent creature with its own initiative, movement, actions, and so on. So it can take an action, a bonus action, and a reaction. (Assuming it has something to do with them.)

PurpleVermont
  • 23,605
  • 30
  • 121
  • 173
Miniman
  • 144,275
  • 45
  • 644
  • 782