5

I can't quite figure out how this works:

I caused an AoO and an enemy dragon used a quickened breath weapon (free action) on me as an AoO, while the rule states that an AoO is a single melee attack...

Was that breath legal?

mxyzplk
  • 175,309
  • 30
  • 437
  • 660
gok
  • 51
  • 1
  • 1
    Note for anyone else reading this: Quicken Breath Weapon from the Draconomicon turns the subject's breath weapon into a free action -- this is different from the normal Quicken Spell feat! – Shalvenay Apr 07 '15 at 01:16
  • 1
    A detailed and pedantic examination of the legality of off-turn free actions is here. (Caution: May cause fist fights and table flips.) – Hey I Can Chan Apr 07 '15 at 11:11
  • If you could find a way to make it an Immediate Action, then it is possible. – Ruut Apr 09 '15 at 08:07

2 Answers2

9

No. As you note, an AoO is a single melee attack; quickened abilities, as they are free actions, can only be used on your turn.

However, GM's world, GM's rules, so I would take it with good humor if it's a home game and not Organized Play of some sort.

user17995
  • 5,172
  • 6
  • 36
  • 48
mxyzplk
  • 175,309
  • 30
  • 437
  • 660
0

No, because a breath weapon is not a melee attack.

Usually, a move action or free action can always be made in place of a standard action, but in case of Attack of Opportunity, that action has to be a melee attack.

Yora
  • 3,948
  • 13
  • 30