The AD&D 1e darkness spell description states that its area of effect is a 1 1/2" radius globe that can targeted on a spot up to 1"/level of the caster (PHB 69). Usually this is no problem to adjudicate, but I'm likely going to be dealing with a situation soon in which the spell is cast on a boat. Clearly, any moving boat/ship will clear the AoE in a matter of seconds (15 yards is nothing even at moderate speeds), so is the spell completely useless in this situation? Or does the darkness move with the boat/ship as it travels (the way it moves with the rotation of the planet in typical circumstances)? It seems to come down to whether the boat is a location or an object moving through a location.
I'm fairly certain this isn't covered in any of the core books (I checked the DMG notes on spells), so if there is an "official" answer, it's likely something from an issue of Dragon magazine. Does anyone know of such an answer? If not, does anyone have an opinion about how this should be ruled based on logic, rule of cool, or anything else (including subsequent editions)?