9

I remember reading that during a surprise round you can only take a single action. A charge is usually a full round action but can be used if you are restricted to a single action, as stated in the special attack rules on charge. Since the pounce ability says that you can full attack during a charge, can you use it to full attack during a surprise round? The pounce description in the MM (p313) is as follows:

Pounce (Ex): When a creature with this special attack makes a charge, it can follow with a full attack—including rake attacks if the creature also has the rake ability.

My opinion is that you should be able to.

doppelgreener
  • 36,482
  • 16
  • 161
  • 253
HESH
  • 823
  • 1
  • 7
  • 16

2 Answers2

15

As written, I would say yes: you have made a charge, since there's no longer any such thing as a "partial charge" in 3.5. This is another reason why Pounce is awesome.

Yamikuronue
  • 5,474
  • 2
  • 27
  • 59
1

Yes. This works exactly as you describe it.

Matthew Najmon
  • 4,437
  • 20
  • 31