I just have read the Dogs in the Vineyard rulebook, and I have a question regarding conflict resolution.
If there is a conflict between two characters, and at some point one escalates from talking to gun fighting, adding the dice from the gun and raising with an 14 (for example), firing at the opponent. If the opponent can't see the raise, he has to give the fight, and therefore I choose the outcome of the conflict. But what happens to that raise I had made? Does he take the blow with all his remaining dice, or do I choose that, too?
English is not my native language, so maybe it's explained in the text, but I haven't been able to understand it.