5

We play a mainly pathfinder game (occassional and as time goes on fewer feats from 3.5) and we still keep coming across things that have changed between 3.5 and pathfinder.

Casting a spell triggers an AoO (unless you cast on the defensive) but does touching an ally to deliver the spell trigger as well? A pathfinder RAW answer would be good. I am sure in 3.5 it did but cannot find anything in pathfinder.

I have found something that says if I use a full round action to touch upto 6 ally it does trigger (if you can fit an enermy in that ruck) but how about just a standard action and just one.

cheers

KRyan
  • 350,913
  • 58
  • 915
  • 1,459
Duncan
  • 635
  • 6
  • 13
  • 1
    Touch attacks never provoked, in 3.5 or Pathfinder. Only actually casting the spell did. Ranged touch attacks would have, but only because all ranged attacks do, the fact that it's a touch attack has nothing to do with it. – KRyan Apr 21 '13 at 14:25
  • But what about casting a cure spell on the defensive, then touching an ally with the cure whilst you are both stood in front of a monster that threatens you both? –  Apr 21 '13 at 18:55

1 Answers1

5

No, touching an ally does not provoke AoO.

Pathfinder SRD, Combat (emphasis mine):

"Armed" Unarmed Attacks: Sometimes a character's or creature's unarmed attack counts as an armed attack. A monk, a character with the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, a spellcaster delivering a touch attack spell, and a creature with natural physical weapons all count as being armed

Armed melee attacks do not provoke an AoO.

This is explicitly repeated in Touch spells in combat section:

Touch Attacks: Touching an opponent with a touch spell is considered to be an armed attack and therefore does not provoke attacks of opportunity. The act of casting a spell, however, does provoke an attack of opportunity.

The exception to this is a full-round action to touch 6 allies, which always provokes an AoO.

Jeor Mattan
  • 9,520
  • 1
  • 35
  • 66
  • Their wording is bad but a Touch attack on an ally allows the ally for a AoO on you, but we simply assume he never takes it. –  Apr 20 '13 at 12:14
  • 1
    @MrJinPengyou Actually it specifically says that no, a Touch Attack doesn't allow for a AoO. – Cristol.GdM Apr 20 '13 at 12:59
  • Oh yeah sorry I read too fast I guess –  Apr 20 '13 at 19:28
  • @MrJinPengyou You could read the second rule as applying to opponents only, but that may be an oversight as you don't normally even make an attack roll to touch allies. – Bradd Szonye Apr 21 '13 at 19:12
  • Is a non-attack spell delivered by touch considered a touch "attack"? – SevenSidedDie Apr 21 '13 at 20:02
  • 1
    The Touch Attacks excerpt does not differentiate between harmful and beneficial spells for the purpose of delivering a touch spell. Therefore, yes. – Jeor Mattan Apr 21 '13 at 21:46
  • 1
    @JeorMattan It does specifically call out “opponent,” though. That could be an oversight, or it could be an example of exception proves the rule. – Bradd Szonye Apr 22 '13 at 04:03