The wording in the feat's description is "gain a +5 to the attack's damage roll", while for crits we "roll all of the attack’s damage dice twice". This suggests to me that the bonus damage is doubled as well. Isn't it?
1 Answers
No
there is a strict difference between a 'die' and 'bonus' (like '+5'). As you quoted, the die (or dice) is (or are) rolled twice, and then you add the bonus.
See for example this rule:
CRITICAL HITS (PHB) When you score a critical hit, you get to roll extra dice for the attack's damage against the target. Roll all of the attack's damage dice twice and add them together. Then add any relevant modifiers as normal.
Also, the feat Savage Attacker is similar to the Charger
SAVAGE ATTACKER (PHB) Once per turn when you roll damage for a melee weapon attack, you can reroll the weapon's damage dice and use either total.
In the Sage Advice Compendium it says:
Does the benefit of the Savage Attacker feat apply to additional effects like the rogue’s Sneak Attack or the paladin’s Divine Smite? No. The benefit of Savage Attacker applies only to rolls of the weapon’s damage dice, not to any extra damage that a feature or other ability might grant.
- 112,387
- 14
- 326
- 684
- 670
- 1
- 14