1

The Aura of Liberation feature of the Oath of the Open Sea from Tal’dorei Campaign Setting: Reborn says:

Creatures that are already grappled or restrained when they enter the aura can spend 5 feet of movement to automatically escape unless they are bound by magic restraints.

The Player's Handbook, Appendix A, says:

A grappled creature's speed becomes 0, and it can't benefit from any bonus to its speed. [...] A restrained creature's speed becomes 0, and it can't benefit from any bonus to its speed.

Doesn't this mean that the grappled or restrained creature has no movement to spend?

Is there some rule where you can "spend" from your normal base speed even when it is temporarily reduced? Or is this just one of those cases where we all shrug and go "eh, it is obvious what was meant"?

Thomas Markov
  • 148,772
  • 29
  • 842
  • 1,137
Kerrick
  • 4,034
  • 1
  • 24
  • 51

0 Answers0