1

So, I have this Armorer artificer Echo knight who is a ranged attacker. Opportunity Attacks only work with melee attacks. In case an opportunity attack is presented, can I just hold the rifle with one hand as a Free object interaction, and use the Thunder Gauntlet provided by the guardian armor to do a melee attack for the opportunity attack?

The gauntlet's rules say:

"Thunder Gauntlets. Each of the armor’s gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren’t holding anything in it, and it deals 1d8 thunder damage on a hit. A creature hit by the gauntlet has disadvantage on attack rolls against targets other than you until the start of your next turn, as the armor magically emits a distracting pulse when the creature attacks someone else".

So, if I released one hand, would they immediately count as a melee weapon, allowing me to make the Opportunity Attack?

Jack
  • 31,646
  • 13
  • 112
  • 200
chinoscut
  • 129
  • 6
  • Hi, and welcome to the stack. I closed your question as a duplicate, because there is a very similar one, and the same logic should apply to your question. That is not a bad thing, and it should answer your question (hint: yes, you can). Let us know if that somehow does not solve your problem. You might also want to take the [tour] if you haven't already, and check out the [help] center for additional help. – Nobody the Hobgoblin Oct 14 '23 at 17:27
  • Cool, thank you! – chinoscut Oct 14 '23 at 21:39

0 Answers0