The rules for mounted combat say:
The initiative of a controlled mount changes to match yours when you mount it. (...) A controlled mount can move and act even on the turn that you mount it.
What, if the mount was before you in the initiative order and already used its move and actions, for example, a warhorse that moved its full speed, then attacked a wolf with its hooves. Does this new intiative give it new movement and actions and a new turn?
My understanding is that the mount will have its own turn, on which it would normally move and act, even though its intiative changes to the same number as the rider's.
I believe that all the sentence "A controlled mount can move and act even on the turn that you mount it." does is tell you that the mount can move and act on the rider's turn, instead of on it's own (to which it normally would be limited for doing those things). It does not:
- explicitly grant an extra action to the mount, like, for example the fighters Action Surge does to the fighter,
- increase the mounts speed or grant it extra movement, like for example the Dash action does.
So, it does get a "new turn" in the sense of having a new slot in the initiative order, (if it used to have a different intiative than the rider, maybe not if it already had the same), and in the sense that it can act on the riders turn. But it does not get a new turn in the sense of getting the resources refreshed that normally come with taking a turn.
Is this reading correct?