5

An earlier question about a creature that can't speak(a displacer beast) got me thinking: what if the creature was polymorphed into a creature that could understand languages but couldn't speak, such as a pseudodragon?

Polymorph. This spell transforms a creature that you can see within range into a new form.

...

The transformation lasts for the duration

(The duration is 1 hour.)

...

The creature can't ... speak.

TieflingDragon84
  • 2,722
  • 9
  • 44

1 Answers1

7

A creature can understand the languages stated in its statblock.

The rules for monster game statistics state:

The languages that a monster can speak are listed in alphabetical order. Sometimes a monster can understand a language but can’t speak it, and this is noted in its entry. A “ — ” indicates that a creature neither speaks nor understands any language.

So if the polymorph form’s statblock has a language listed, the creature can understand that language, since the creature’s statistics are replaced by those of the polymorph form:

The target's game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast.

Thomas Markov
  • 148,772
  • 29
  • 842
  • 1,137