6

When an enemy leaves the reach of a Pact of the Chain warlock, and the warlock gets a physical opportunity attack, can the familiar deliver it to that enemy if both use their reactions?

Nobody the Hobgoblin
  • 112,387
  • 14
  • 326
  • 684
Cookieman
  • 645
  • 1
  • 10

1 Answers1

11

No, your familiar can only attack when you take the Attack action

Normally familiars cannot attack. Find Familar says

A familiar can't attack, but it can take other actions as normal.

The Pact of the Chain warlock has a feature that creates an exception to this rule (PHB, p. 107):

Additionally, when you take the Attack action, you can forgo one of your own attacks to allow your familiar to make one attack of its own.

Taking the Attack action is however different from making an opportunity attack. The Attack action is a specific action you take during your own turn. So this exception does not apply to opportunity attacks.

Nobody the Hobgoblin
  • 112,387
  • 14
  • 326
  • 684