If a player is a Pact of the Chain Warlock and they decide to choose their familiar to be a sprite and had the Poisoner Feat, could they use that feat to apply poison to the sprite's weapons?
Asked
Active
Viewed 948 times
5
Nobody the Hobgoblin
- 112,387
- 14
- 326
- 684
Champion of Ubtao
- 1,235
- 7
- 16
- 26
-
2I’ve added the D&D 5e tag since you mentioned Pact of the Chain warlocks. Let us know if this is somehow incorrect. – Thomas Markov Jul 12 '22 at 22:45
1 Answers
8
Yes, you can poison someone else's weapon
There is nothing in the feat that says it has to be the character's weapon, just "a weapon".
However, the first bullet point of the feat states, "When you make a damage roll that deals poison damage, it ignores resistance to poison damage", so the sprite will not get that benefit as it is tied directly to the character with the feat.
Nobody the Hobgoblin
- 112,387
- 14
- 326
- 684
MivaScott
- 40,125
- 5
- 91
- 208
-
If the Warlock's sprite familiar has the poisoner's feat applied to their shortbow would the 3rd feature of that same feat and the other affect of the sprite's shortbow cause a creature to make two separate save throws? – Champion of Ubtao Jul 14 '22 at 03:57
-
@ChampionofUbtao, that's kind of a separate question, but to save you time, it's already been asked here and here. Basically, unless your DM rules otherwise, poisons won't stack. So it's just one poison or another. – MivaScott Jul 14 '22 at 05:09