0

The Eldritch Knight fighter's Weapon Bond feature states (PHB page 74):

[...] If it is on the same plane of existence, you can summon that weapon as a bonus action on your turn, causing it to teleport instantly to your hand. [...]

If you hit a creature with a Bonded weapon, would they teleport when you summoned the weapon?

V2Blast
  • 49,864
  • 10
  • 220
  • 304
TOAOA
  • 21
  • 1
    Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the [tour] if you haven't already and see the [help] or ask us here in the comments (use @ to ping someone) if you need more guidance. Good Luck and Happy Gaming! – Someone_Evil Mar 11 '22 at 23:09

2 Answers2

8

Your weapon can't teleport anything else with it.

Rules elements like class features are specific about what they do. If it says the weapon teleports to your hand, then the weapon does that, not anything it's sitting on, near, or in. (There's a potentially interesting argument about whether the sword leaves behind anything that was spread on the blade, like say blood or rust.)

If the effect could bring a creature with it, then it would say so.

There are no hidden rules.

Darth Pseudonym
  • 74,915
  • 12
  • 190
  • 341
2

No, the creature would not be teleported with the weapon.

Spells only do what they say they do, and the same is true of class features; it would only teleport your weapon to your hand, not anyone holding it, using it, stabbed by it, etc.

Note that it does not say "the weapon teleports as if it used the spell teleport" or something similar, so we default to a normal interpretation of the sentence.

V2Blast
  • 49,864
  • 10
  • 220
  • 304
firedraco
  • 5,102
  • 1
  • 20
  • 25