I suspect this ambiguity is from an editing mistake
First, the spells in question
Let's start by looking at the root spell of this whole line of vaguely-functioning illusions, silent image:
Effect: Visual figment that cannot extend beyond four 10-ft. cubes + one 10-ft. cube/level (S)
This spell creates the visual illusion of an object, creature, or force, as visualized by you. The illusion does not create sound, smell, texture, or temperature. You can move the image within the limits of the size of the effect.
This is actually very clear. Gnorman the Gne'er-do-well, assuming a CL of 11, can cast silent image and define an area of fifteen 10-ft. cubes. Within that area, he visualizes a winged monkey with a little red coat and blue fez hat, with green tassels. As long as he stays within long range (840 ft., for Gnorman) of this figment, he can move it silently all throughout his fifteen 10-ft. cubes, which effectively function as an invisible fish tank for his flying monkey. That shapeable fish tank is immobile, because nothing in the spell description lets Gnorman move it. As long as he stays concentrating, he can circle all the way around the effect, staying within 840 ft. of it. That means he can be well outside 840 ft. of where he cast the spell, but for silent image, there's no reason that where he cast the spell should matter.1
Things get tricky when we move on to major image and permanent image. Let's look at permanent image:
This spell functions like silent image, except that the figment includes visual, auditory, olfactory, and thermal elements, and the spell is permanent. By concentrating, you can move the image within the limits of the range, but it is static while you are not concentrating.
I've bolded the important change, here. Where silent image let Gnorman fly his monkey only within the shapeable area he'd defined when casting the spell, now all of the sudden he can move the monkey within an area defined by the spell's range (840 ft. when he casts it, but that could very well change, given that the spell lasts forever). Hey I Can Chan's answer deals extensively with how one might interpret this line, but ultimately there's no clean answer. It's clearly a very abnormal situation.
But look at permanent image's effect line:
Effect: Figment that cannot extend beyond a 20-ft. cube + one 10-ft. cube/level (S)
It gets repeated because now the spell uses a single 20-ft. cube as a base, instead of four 10-ft. cubes, which is certainly weird, but more important is the wording. A "[f]igment that cannot extend beyond" the shapeable area, just like silent image. It is possible to read that as only limiting the size of the illusion, but if that were the case the wording is tortured, and explicitly not how it's used in silent image. Compare minor creation, whose effect line is clearly limiting the size:
Effect: Unattended, nonmagical object of nonliving plant matter, up to 1 cu. ft./level
"Up to" is much more natural language when talking about a size limit than "cannot extend beyond," especially given that silent image uses the latter language to establish a boundary for the figment, not the size of the figment.
The resolution
My assumption is that, at some time in the course of editing the Player's Handbook, major image and permanent image (the latter probably copied from the former) got changed from silent image's "You can move the image within the limits of the size of the effect" to "While concentrating, you can move the image within the range."
They needed to change something, of course; silent image disappears when you stop concentrating on it, so its description makes no mention of concentration—it's implicit—whereas the higher level spells still exist in some fashion when not being concentrated on, major image for 3 rounds and permanent image for eternity. Since it couldn't be copy and pasted, it got paraphrased, and I suspect some details were inadvertently changed in the process.
The solution, then, is to change the text in major/permanent image from
While concentrating, you can move the image within the range.
to
While concentrating, you can move the image within the limits of the size of the effect.
This neatly solves all the questions about how Gnorman might move around his flying monkeys. He casts permanent image, and shapes an effect with a 20-ft. cube and eleven 10-ft. cubes. After the spell is cast, this size and shape will be permanent.2 He visualizes a monkey, and after the spell is finished he can concentrate and move the monkey anywhere within the static boundary he shaped during the casting. As long as he is within long range of the figment, he can move it by concentrating, but it can never leave the boundary he set. This is unambiguous and in line with silent image, and also with Skip Williams's "Rules of the Game: All About Illusions (Part Two)" article, linked in Hey I Can Chan's answer.
The problems
The problems with this solution are twofold. First, it's not RAW. 3.5e isn't functional based purely on the rules-as-written, but there's a difference between filling in the gaps in the written rules—something every DM will have to at some point—and deliberately changing the wording on a spell, which might make some DMs balk.
Second, by assuming an editing mistake, I'm implicitly assuming authorial intent. That's always a dangerous game. In this case, I feel it's warranted: Skip Williams, one of the authors of the Player's Handbook, explicitly said that this was how figments work in "All About Illusions (Part Two)," and while we don't know for certain that he penned these particular spells, it's certainly possible. We also know that 3.5e books were rife with editing mistakes, so I don't think it's such a stretch to assume one here.
Still, ultimately this would be a houserule, so bear that in mind.
Footnotes:
- There's some ambiguity here, actually: does the zone Gnorman defines have to be wholly within his range, or can it extend past his range? The spell rules actually don't define this, because they only mention area and silent image doesn't have an area—it has an effect. The distinction between area and effect is in theory very important (it could mean extra range on the illusion, here!), but in practice isn't, simply because the Player's Handbook is often written in vernacular rather than technical language.
So when the PHB says that a spell is wasted when its area extends beyond its range, we should probably also assume the same is true of when its effect extends beyond its range, even though effect and area are two distinct rules terms. And then we can look at guards and wards, a spell whose range is defined by its area, even though we have rules text saying a spell's area can't go beyond its range, and realize just how scuffed the rules really are.
- Until dispelled, of course, or something weirder happens to it. An incantatrix with ocular spell can probably come along and steal the spell by storing it in her eyeballs, for example, which would be quite rude. Or possibly she'd store it in Gnorman's eyeballs, which would probably be even ruder.