A spawn of Kyuss is clearly a single creature but is infested with worms, and the worms are the real threat. If you cast polymorph on the creature, is the polymorphed creature still infested with worms? Are the worms somehow expelled from the creature? Or would the worms be absorbed by the spell as if they were gear? This is somewhat related to What happens when you cast the Polymorph spell on a swarm?, but a little different since there is a clear target.
If the worms are absorbed as gear, would this suggest that the same happens when casting polymorph on someone carrying a smaller creature? If the worms are expelled, does that mean polymorph could be used as an alternative to cure the disease since it expels foreign bodies?
This is for a game I'm running, so I know I can always just make a ruling, but I have a somewhat litigious group (including myself), and I like to have some rationale for rulings when I can.
My current opinion (based on Do diseases carry over from polymorph?) is that the worms count as a disease so would be carried over, along with the "Burrowing worm" ability. Does this seem the more "correct" answer? Or is there something else RAW or RAI that suggests otherwise?