Fairly simple question but I can't seem to find an answer to it. If a creature is concentrating on a spell and then becomes stunned, does their concentration on that spell end?
Asked
Active
Viewed 1.1k times
15
-
4I'm not sure if we'd consider this a duplicate because it's the reverse, but pretty sure that this answers your question: In what ways can a spellcaster's concentration be disrupted? – NotArch Oct 02 '21 at 20:50
-
5Related: What are the unlisted effects of the Incapacitated condition? – Kirt Oct 02 '21 at 23:39
-
@NautArch Doesn't seem reverse to me; looks like an ideal canonical duplicate target for any question in the form of "Does x interrupt concentration?" – TylerH Oct 04 '21 at 15:35
-
2Does this answer your question? In what ways can a spellcaster's concentration be disrupted? – TylerH Oct 04 '21 at 15:35
1 Answers
41
Being Stunned ends concentration by inflicting the Incapacitated condition
One of the effects of the Stunned condition is this:
- A stunned creature is incapacitated (see the condition), can't move, and can speak only falteringly.
Meanwhile, the rules on Concentration state:
[...] You lose concentration on a spell if you are incapacitated or if you die. [...]
From this, we can conclude that the Stunned condition ends concentration on spells.
Exempt-Medic
- 75,986
- 11
- 289
- 534