Holding the Shield is the only requirement to benefit from the shield
You can benefit from a Sentinel shield without donning it, and the plain English meaning of "hold" does allow multiple characters to hold something simultaneously. Multiple characters can benefit from Sentinel Shield or similar magic items simultaneously, so long as they can fit into the space around it.
The general rules for Magic Items are clear
Sentinel Shield's type is Armor (Shield)
The rules under Magic Item Categories: Armor state
Unless an armor’s description says otherwise, armor must be worn for its magic to function.
Here we are told the default is "armor must be worn" but that if an armor's description contradicts that to follow the item's description.
Sentinel Shield's description states:
While holding this shield <...>
The section of the rules under Wearing and Wielding Items is a reminder that if it must be worn, it must be worn properly (rings don't go on ponytails, hats don't go on your feet, cloaks can't be wrapped around your legs), and does not contradict the specific rules in the Magic Item Categories section.
Using a magic item’s properties might mean wearing or wielding it. A magic item meant to be worn must be donned in the intended fashion:
To determine if a magic item is meant to be worn you follow the instructions in the Magic Item Categories for the general rule applicable to each type of magic item, or to the item description.
If a shield's effect requires wielding, it will say so
A shield that must be wielded will say so.
The Arrow Catching Shield says
You gain a +2 bonus to AC against ranged attacks while you wield this shield.
"While this item is held" is not just "standard language"
Most weapons include this language because Magic Item Categories: Weapons does not specify that weapons must be held or wielded as a general rule, so items which require being held are always called out in the description. However there are many notable (and sensible) omissions so it's clearly not just a standard template
For example, Staff of Charming does require being held, but a +1 Javelin or Vicious Dagger weapon does not.
Ruling all wearable/wieldable items must be worn/wielded to use their magical effects breaks more things than it fixes
The +1 Javelin or Vicious Dagger would lose their magical properties instantly upon leaving your hand and not apply to thrown weapon attacks.
The Javelin of Lightning would be impossible to use, as the command word must be spoken after you hurl the item.
The Animated Shield would be completely useless (and silly). You'd have to spend an action donning the shield properly, speak the command word, and then you'd no longer be able to benefit from its magical properties the instant it left your arm. Even if it didn't turn off, it's silly to think they meant you to take an action to properly don a shield AND spend a bonus action to activate a shield. The main benefit it provides is that you can get a shield to protect you with only an object interaction to pull it out + the bonus action to activate i.
The Weapon of Warning (whose language is clearly non-standard and intended to allow you to use its effects without wielding it) would need to be wielded. There is no reason for language like this to exist on weapons if the rules under Wearing and Wielding Magic Items trump the conditions specified in the item description.
There are actually very few abuse cases
Items like Rod of Pact Keeper and Staff of Charming cannot be abused because they also require attunement, in addition to holding the item.
Of the extremely limited set of magic items which can be used while simply being held and do not require attunement, the strongest is probably +3 Shield, however even that's not necessarily overpowered. Grouping together to share this bonus makes you a sitting duck for any AOE effect and greatly restricts your parties movement and tactical options to continue benefiting from it. Even at level 1, enemies can simply run away and ready actions to attack the first party member who leaves the shield.
Jeremy Crawford Ruling
Jeremy Crawford's ruling supports this interpretation. On twitter he was asked:
@JeremyECrawford Sentinel Shield says, "While holding this shield", you get it's benefits. Does that mean wielded or just "holding"?
and he replied with
"Holding" means holding. #DnD #English