If I cast Summon Aberration to summon a Beholderkin, would I be able to stand or sit/mount it and have it fly?
Asked
Active
Viewed 1,141 times
1 Answers
4
It's up to the DM, and your size must be small.
The rules for Mounted Combat state:
A willing creature that is at least one size larger than you and that has an appropriate anatomy can serve as a mount, using the following rules.
Since summon aberration summons a medium sized beholderkin, this is only possible if you are playing a size small race. If you are medium, this just doesn't work. If you are small, and the DM determines that a beholderkin has the appropriate anatomy, then this works just fine, but it is the DM's decision. If allowed, the usual rules for mounts should be followed.
Thomas Markov
- 148,772
- 29
- 842
- 1,137
-
3Your DM's ruling on this may depend on their memories of hopper balls – Someone_Evil Jul 29 '21 at 22:29
-
It might be good to spell out that an exotic saddle is required to ride any flying mount, as in my experience this rule is often missed. – mdrichey Aug 22 '21 at 19:06