5

Does the spell specify that the material component need be the same as the one used in the attack?

As part of recent errata to the green-flame blade and booming blade cantrips, their material components have been amended to "a melee weapon worth at least 1 sp" (Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide, 142).

If the attacking weapon and material component do not have to be the same, then can you use a separate weapon (for instance a Pact weapon or a Psychic Blade) for the component?

Thomas Markov
  • 148,772
  • 29
  • 842
  • 1,137
AncientSwordRage
  • 13,455
  • 8
  • 110
  • 291

2 Answers2

18

The material component weapon must be used to make the attack

The spell states (emphasis mine):

You brandish the weapon used in the spell’s casting and make a melee attack with it against one creature within 5 feet of you. [...]

The only weapon used in the spell's casting is the material component; no other weapons is required in order to cast the spell. If they wanted it to be any weapon, they would have worded the spell differently.

Exempt-Medic
  • 75,986
  • 11
  • 289
  • 534
7

Yes.

The spell specifically says:

You brandish the weapon used in the spell’s casting and make a melee attack with it against one creature within 5 feet of you.

The “weapon used in the spell’s casting” refers to the weapon used as a material component.

Bardic Wizard
  • 4,369
  • 1
  • 18
  • 46