I understand how offhand attack works. However, when you roll to hit, would you still add your bonuses to the attack roll?
Asked
Active
Viewed 3,467 times
-1
-
1Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the [tour] if you haven't already, and check out the [help] for more guidance. – V2Blast Oct 11 '20 at 05:55
1 Answers
2
Yes, you still add any relevant modifiers to the attack roll.
You still use the relevant modifiers for the attack roll (Str/Dex + proficiency bonus + other relevant modifiers) of your bonus-action attack from the Two-Weapon Fighting rule. You just don't get to add your ability modifier to the damage roll - if it's positive.
(Note that you do add your ability modifier to the damage roll of the bonus-action attack if your ability modifier is negative, or if some other rule allows it, such as the Two-Weapon Fighting fighting style.)
V2Blast
- 49,864
- 10
- 220
- 304
Allan Mills
- 26,008
- 3
- 77
- 154
-
3This answer would be greatly improved by citing the relevant rules. As is, it doesn’t meet our baseline expectations for citing your answers. – Thomas Markov Oct 10 '20 at 01:40
-
Might want to include that you may add stat modifiers under certain circumstances, such as Two-Weapon Fight Style, one of the traits in Swashbuckler Rogue's tree, as well as the Dual-Wielder feat I believe. – He Who Rules As Intended Oct 10 '20 at 01:40
-
@HeWhoRulesAsIntended: Only the TWF fighting style adds the ability modifier (Str or Dex, as relevant) to the bonus-action attack. Dual Wielder doesn't do that, though it has other benefits relating to the Two-Weapon Fighting rule. And none of the Swashbuckler rogue's features even directly relate to the Two-Weapon Fighting rule (though it indirectly helps with it by granting the benefit of Disengage against anyone you attack, meaning you don't have to use your bonus action to Disengage). – V2Blast Oct 11 '20 at 05:55
-
@V2Blast Yeah, I was thinking about something else - entirely different. Been a while since I played the game. – He Who Rules As Intended Oct 11 '20 at 23:46