0

I've noticed that the Touch of Gracelessness spell doesn't mention a needing to make a touch attack, but it does say you touch the enemy. Does that mean you need to succeed on the touch attack, and then the enemy needs to fail the Fortitude save?

V2Blast
  • 49,864
  • 10
  • 220
  • 304
Lulu
  • 1

1 Answers1

5

The spell touch of gracelessness has the entry Range: Touch. This Range means that "[y]ou must touch a creature… to affect it" with the touch of gracelessness spell. This Range entry also means that the rules on both how to make touch attacks and how to employ touch spells in combat apply.

Despite the spell's description not saying that it requires a touch attack, when in combat a caster must make a touch attack to touch an enemy or a creature that's otherwise avoiding the caster's touch. Nothing special exempts the spell touch of gracelessness from the normal rules.


Note: Other questions and answers address the horribly under-detailed accidental discharge rules ("If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges"). And another question's answers describe how to detect a touch spell's held charge.

Hey I Can Chan
  • 191,258
  • 18
  • 357
  • 866
  • Note that, as a corollary to your second sentence, you don't ordinarily have to make a touch attack when casting a touch-range spell on an ally-- "You can touch up to 6 willing targets as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell. " – Please stop being evil Dec 13 '19 at 06:25