10

Context

The Eldritch Knight in my game is looking for ways to make the spell magic circle be used quickly in battle, since casting it takes one minute. He came up with casting glyph of warding on his armor, choosing the Spell Glyph option. So when needed, he could trigger the glyph for quick use of the stored spell. If I understand the glyph spell correctly, this would work, but it would also greatly limit his mobility:

When you cast this spell, you inscribe a glyph that later unleashes a magical effect. You inscribe it either on a surface (such as a table or a section of floor or wall) or within an object that can be closed (such as a book, a scroll, or a treasure chest) to conceal the glyph. The glyph can cover an area no larger than 10 feet in diameter. If you choose an object, that object must remain in its place; if the object is moved more than 10 feet from where you cast this spell, the glyph is broken, and the spell ends without being triggered. [...]

(emphasis mine)

Since mobility is quite useful in combat, he's now thinking of casting the glyph on some small object, which he then places inside the party's Bag of Holding:

This bag has an interior space considerably larger than its outside dimensions, roughly 2 feet in diameter at the mouth and 4 feet deep. [...]

Question

With this interaction, would he be able to use an action to retreive the item from the bag and then (for example) use Action Surge to trigger the glyph, instantly casting a stored spell (magic circle in this case)?

We're curious about how to interpret this by RAW, if possible.

Vadruk
  • 10,075
  • 16
  • 63
  • 129

3 Answers3

26

This won't work, for several reasons

It's debatable whether a bag of holding's interior counts as a separate plane of existence in the way a portable hole does. If the bag doesn't open into a separate plane, then this plan obviously doesn't work. However, even if it does, the plan still doesn't work. First of all, measuring distance across planes is completely unspecified, so it's entirely up to the DM what happens when the glyph is placed into the bag after casting it. However, even if that works, as soon as the object with the glyph is removed from the bag, it has been "moved more than 10 feet from where you cast this spell", so the spell will end without the glyph activating. In short, even though the rules are ambiguous on the precise mechanics of what will happen, none of the ambiguities in the rules give you a way to move the glyph more than 10 feet away from where it was cast.

(Personally, if I were a DM, I would rule that bringing a glyph to another plane counts as moving it more than 10 feet away from where it was cast.)

Ryan C. Thompson
  • 61,571
  • 10
  • 212
  • 350
7

Yes, this still counts as "being moved"

Unlike in the linked question Can a portable hole be used to get around the 10' movement restriction on Glyph of Warding?, the bag of holding's description does not say it creates a space on a different plane of existence.

Nothing in its description says that when you move the container, you don't also move the inside of it. Therefore, moving the bag breaks the Glyph of Warding movement condition.

V2Blast
  • 49,864
  • 10
  • 220
  • 304
Deeps
  • 5,827
  • 2
  • 22
  • 47
  • 1
    the bag of holding description does not say it creates a space on a different plane of existence this alone does not mean the gag does NOT creates such a space tho — https://twitter.com/mikemearls/status/753684706135191552 – enkryptor Aug 21 '19 at 15:32
  • The question specifically asks about RAW perspective. – Deeps Aug 21 '19 at 18:15
0

Actually, the Bag of Holding and the Handy Haversack both count as extradimensional spaces, according to Portable Hole's own description text.

Last Paragraph Portable Hole's 5e item description:

Placing a portable hole inside an extradimensional space created by a Bag of Holding, Handy Haversack, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane. The gate originates where the one item was placed inside the other. Any creature within 10 feet of the gate is sucked through it and deposited in a random location on the Astral Plane. The gate then closes. The gate is one-way only and can't be reopened."

Handy Haversack and Bag of Holding also have similar paragraphs.

Whether moving between dimensions counts as more than 10 feet would have to be determined by you and the DM.