22

If I multiclass into Wizard, do I automatically begin with a spellbook?

I'm looking for support within the written rules. Designer intent is a consideration, but their intent should be well supported in order to be accepted. If using intent, please review the tweet's logic within the rules to support it.

NotArch
  • 125,044
  • 39
  • 506
  • 804

2 Answers2

31

Yes, you are granted a spellbook by your spellcasting.

Spellcasting (PHB 114):

As a student of arcane magic, you have a spellbook containing spells that show the first glimmerings of your true power.

So you have a spellbook, disregarding how you got it.

Class Features (PHB 164):

When you gain a new level in a class, you get its features for that level.

Spellcasting is a class feature that has additional rules tied to it.

Spellcasting (PHB 164):

Your capacity for spellcasting depends partly on your combined levels in all your spellcasting classes and partly on your individual levels in those classes.

As the additional rules do not state that you lose any spellbook granted, you have one.


So what about the spellbook that is listed under equipment?

Well, that is also a separate issue (which most GM's dutifully ignore).

Your spellbook is part of the spellcasting class feature, which is a separate instance from your starting equipment. Your starting equipment is not a class feature granted by multiclassing PHB errata V2.0 page 2

You don’t, however, receive the class’s starting equipment,

So what is your new spellbook that you get due to your spellcasting feature?

Your spellbook is a unique compilation of spells, with its own decorative flourishes and margin notes. It might be a plain, functional leather volume that you received as a gift from your master, a finely bound gilt-edged tome you found in an ancient library, or even a loose collection of notes scrounged together after you lost your previous spellbook in a mishap.

Well, it could be lots of things, Rubiksmoose phrases it nicely:

you can use almost anything as a spellbook even things like metal sheets and carved rocks in a bag.

Akixkisu
  • 19,584
  • 13
  • 80
  • 138
  • 5
    D&D Beyond seems to follow this interpretation. Creating a character and multiclassing into wizard does not give you a spellbook equipment but still allows you to use the spellbook features character test here. This is naturally just because someone programmed it like that (perhaps even unintentionally) but I still found it interesting. – Sdjz Jul 02 '19 at 17:09
11

Yes.

According to Jeremy Crawford on Twitter, the spellbook is a feature of the class, and is therefore gained upon taking a level in Wizard. How you explain it in-game is between the DM and the player to work out:

The wizard's Spellcasting feature says you have a spellbook with six 1st-level wizards spells in it of your choice. That means you have a spellbook with those six spells in it. Work out with your DM how you acquired that wondrous book. #DnD

Akixkisu
  • 19,584
  • 13
  • 80
  • 138
cpcodes
  • 4,719
  • 14
  • 31
  • 6
    Can you support this outside of purely JC. He gives some insight into his mind, but the tweets aren't official rules/rulings. I'd prefer answers to be focused more on the written rules. – NotArch Jul 02 '19 at 16:19
  • 3
    As Crawford's tweets are no longer considered official rulings, this answer will probably benefit from quoting/investigating the specific rules and how they support the conclusion in a bit more detail. – Carcer Jul 02 '19 at 16:19
  • 5
    Also note that sageadvice.eu is NOT Sage Advice from WoTC. It's just a guy who consolidated designer tweets. – NotArch Jul 02 '19 at 16:22
  • 1
    This answer can be improved by citing the PHB text for the wizard's Spellcasting feature ("you have a spellbook...") – MikeQ Jul 02 '19 at 16:22
  • I'm also not asking how to narrate it, just whether or not it's possible. – NotArch Jul 02 '19 at 16:33
  • I wonder how many other classes have a part of their "feature" that can be stolen... – Slagmoth Jul 02 '19 at 18:45
  • 1
    @Slagmoth It's possible that you could consider any spell focus/component pouch to also be an issue. Or taking weapons away from a martial? – NotArch Jul 03 '19 at 14:42
  • @NautArch I don't think the concepts quite equate. Being proficient in something is a feature but having the item with which you are proficient is equipment. I have had PC's spellbooks destroyed or stolen in the past, same with weapons for a fighter but it is not as devastating to a fighter as it is to a wizard. I just think of features as things you can't have taken away. The way spellcasting is worded for the wizard is a bit off in my mind is all I am saying. – Slagmoth Jul 03 '19 at 15:37
  • @Slagmoth Fully agree. It's a fairly awful mechanic, especially if the DM utilizes it without having safe backup options available for whatever reason. But if you do, then why have it at all? – NotArch Jul 03 '19 at 15:42