11

The rules for the haste spell state the following:

When the spell ends, the target can’t move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.

--- Player's Handbook p. 250

Does this give attackers an advantage against you as you cannot move? What about making Strength/Dexterity saves during this period? I find it unclear as to what it means by 'can’t move or take actions'?

George
  • 339
  • 1
  • 3
  • 8

1 Answers1

26

It means exactly what it says: No movement (speed becomes 0), and no actions (action, bonus action or reaction*).

The rest of the mechanics apply normally: no disadvantage, saves as needed. It doesn't say that any specific condition applies, so nothing else matters...

*(As was noted in the comments and in the related question On the turn after Haste ends, can you use a reaction? , reaction should probably not be included. However, my interpretation goes along the "reaction is a special kind of action" PHB quote)

adonies
  • 1,938
  • 2
  • 17
  • 19