16

The Savage Attacker feat (PHB, p. 169) states that you can reroll a melee weapon's damage dice "once per turn".

If I used Savage Attacker on my turn, and then I get an opportunity attack when an enemy moves away from me, can I also use the Savage Attacker feat to reroll my damage on the enemy's turn?

V2Blast
  • 49,864
  • 10
  • 220
  • 304
darnok
  • 4,760
  • 5
  • 29
  • 65

2 Answers2

22

Yes, you can use it again on someone else's turn

As you note, Savage Attacker can be used to reroll damage "once per turn". In a given round, each creature gets a different turn (PHB p. 189, "The Order of Combat"):

The game organizes the chaos of combat into a cycle of rounds and turns. A round represents about 6 seconds in the game world. During a round, each participant in a battle takes a turn.

Provided the creature is moving on its own turn (not on your turn), you can use this feature again even if you used it during your turn.

This is a very similar reasoning to the rogue using Sneak Attack outside their turn, as it uses similar wording.

V2Blast
  • 49,864
  • 10
  • 220
  • 304
Sdjz
  • 36,378
  • 15
  • 169
  • 234
  • 2
    Note that this is definitely on purpose, not an accident. The prior version of D&D (4e) had things like rogue sneak attack be once/round, and they later explicitly changed it to once/turn as they felt "being able to be nasty on an opportunity attack" made sense. This lesson carried forward to 5e. – Yakk Jan 17 '19 at 14:20
5

Yes you can

Since the Feat allows you to reroll the damage once per turn, you can indeed use it for Opportunity attacks and other attacks multiple times during a round, up to once per turn. You understood the rule correctly.

An interesting consequence is that characters who have access to the Fighter's Action Surge class feature can use it to get a second action, use that action to Ready an Attack action in a manner that triggers quickly after their turn, and get more damage out of their second action this way.

kviiri
  • 53,985
  • 17
  • 201
  • 262
  • 2
    Note that you can't use Extra Attack when readying, so this move is going to be useful for only a very short amount of time. – Erik Jan 17 '19 at 12:56
  • 1
    @Erik Not necessarily, the Action surge might be from a multiclass dip from a main class that doesn't have Extra attack. I could see this having a potentially workable synergy with Sneak Attack. – kviiri Jan 17 '19 at 13:08