1

Warlock with Wand +1 and shield (hexblade, he has proficiency in shields)

A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components—or to hold a spellcasting focus—but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components (PHB p.203)

Can he cast spells that need S component but not M? (without warcaster feat)

Rubiksmoose
  • 94,696
  • 21
  • 483
  • 580
Foffos
  • 1,389
  • 3
  • 16
  • 23
  • 1
    Related: https://rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/102252/can-a-multiclass-cleric-warlock-hold-a-holy-shield-and-an-arcane-staff-and-still – Davo Jan 04 '19 at 19:50

2 Answers2

2

RAW. It would appear not.

According to the Sage Advice Compendium referenced in this answer state that you can only use the hand holding your focus if the spell requires a non-costly material component.

This seems to make no sense and is likely one of those rulings from the devs that I will ignore as illogical. There is seemingly no difference between somatic components between a spell that requires material components and one that doesn't. There is nothing breaking in this decision at all. Most of us hand waive over the free hand to a certain extent anyway. The SA ruling seems to be overly punishing.

Slagmoth
  • 22,231
  • 5
  • 77
  • 117
1

In short: No you can't, you still need that free hand

When casting spells you typically need 1, 2 or all 3 types of component: Material, Somatic, and Verbal. Spells that require a verbal component only require the use of your mouth, however Somatic and Material components require a free hand:

PHB 203

Somatic (S)

Spellcasting gestures might include a forceful gesticulation or an intricate set of gestures. If a spell requires a somatic component, the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures.

Material (M)

….. A spellcaster must have a hand free to access these components, but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.

A shield does take the use of one of your hands as does the Hexblade. For Hexblade Warlocks, the Hexblade can't be used a spellcasting focus nor is any indication given that you can perform Somatic components while holding the Hexblade in your hand. Looking into Warlocks further I found no evocations or class abilities that would allow any similar effect to what you are looking for.

Rubiksmoose
  • 94,696
  • 21
  • 483
  • 580
KDodge
  • 1,171
  • 3
  • 14
  • 24