The sanctuary spell description says:
You ward a creature within range against attack. Until the spell ends, any creature who targets the warded creature with an attack or a harmful spell must first make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the creature must choose a new target or lose the attack or spell. This spell doesn't protect the warded creature from area effects, such as the explosion of a fireball.
If the warded creature makes an attack, casts a spell that affects an enemy, or deals damage to another creature, this spell ends.
My question is whether I ruled the above spell correctly based on the scenario below:
- Character A casts sanctuary on Character B
- Creature 1 tries to attack Character B, and fails its Wisdom save against sanctuary.
- Creature 1 sees that it has enough remaining movement available to reach Character C, and thus moves to Character C and attacks (regardless of whether it has multi-attack or not).
The player who controls Character A (the one who cast sanctuary) feels that since Creature 1 failed the Wisdom saving throw, the attack was wasted and Creature 1 should not have been able to attack Character C. They concede that Creature 1 can move to Character C, but disagree that it should have been able to attack them.
However, based on the wording of:
On a failed save, the creature must choose a new target or lose the attack or spell.
...I feel that a creature can move and make an attack as it does not specify anything about movement speeds, and clearly states that another target must be sought.
Was my ruling correct? If not, please explain why.
I have tried to distinguish between Creature, and Character. That may be confusing matters.
– Matthew Perryman Dec 10 '18 at 21:23