4

If I have a wizard that casts time stop, it doesn't actually speed up the caster; rather, it slows every other creature down. That would suggest that the wizard is taking their bonus turns as regular turns, and then the affected creatures just skip out on those rounds until they can act again.

If that's the case, does time stop disrupt other spellcaster's spells that have concentration while the wizard is spending their "bonus" turns, and therefore can't spend the bonus action to maintain the concentration?

V2Blast
  • 49,864
  • 10
  • 220
  • 304
as.beaulieu
  • 5,308
  • 4
  • 29
  • 58

1 Answers1

20

Maintaining concentration does not require a bonus action, or any other kind of action. There are only 4 conditions that end concentration:

  • The spellcaster can choose to end it at any time, no action required
  • Casting another spell that requires concentration
  • Taking damage and failing the resulting Constitution saving throw
  • Being incapacitated or killed

Since Time Stop does not cause any of these things to happen, it has no effect on a spellcaster's concentration.

Miniman
  • 144,275
  • 45
  • 644
  • 782
  • 3
    Technically, the third point is "Failing a Constitution saving throw to maintain concentration after taking damage or under other circumstances determined by the DM." – Marq Jul 19 '18 at 16:41
  • @Marq Can you site where in the rules or under other circumstances determined by the DM is said? Because yes, DM always has the right to change things, but that can be assumed usually. Also, holding a spell with the Ready action is stated to require concentration, so point 2 can stand as is. – Blake Steel Jul 19 '18 at 16:51
  • 6
    @BlakeSteel: It's stated right in the description of Concentration: "The DM might also decide that certain environmental phenomena, such as a wave crashing over you while you're on a storm-tossed ship, require you to succeed on a DC 10 Constitution saving throw to maintain concentration on a spell." As for the other point, yes, Readying a spell or casting a spell with a casting time longer than 1 turn also requires concentration so the second bullet point covers that. – V2Blast Jul 19 '18 at 17:38
  • There are some other situations that end concentration. Entering Barbarian rage does it. There are also features other than spells that require concentration, like Draconic Presence and Visions of the Past. Some magic items also require concentration, for example marvellous pigments, ring of shooting stars. – Greenstone Walker Jul 19 '18 at 21:39