Scenario 1:
Consider a Stalwart Defender with the following Defensive Power:
Intercept (Ex): Once a round as an immediate action, when a melee or ranged weapon would successfully strike an adjacent ally, the stalwart defender can choose to have the weapon strike him instead of the intended target. [...]
The Stalwart Defender has the Quick Draw feat and a Quickdraw Shield with Energy Resistance to Fire.
[...] If you have the Quick Draw feat, you may don or put away a quickdraw shield as a free action.
The Stalwart Defender's adjacent ally is shot by a firey arrow. The Stalwart Defender does not yet have his shield drawn. So can the Stalwart Defender draw his shield while taking his intercept action, and benefit from its resistance against the fire arrow?
According to the rules as written,
You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally.
This question addresses if a character can take a free action in response to another character's actions, to which the answer is no. (That falls under the realm of immediate actions.) However, as long as you're already "acting normally" you seem to be allowed to take free actions, whether it's your turn or not.
This interpretation also makes sense stylistically, as a character should be able to take their usual free actions while already reacting to another character, such as drawing a shield while intercepting an attack.
Scenario 2:
A character has a +1 base attack bonus. This allows him to do the following
Draw a weapon as a move action, or (if your base attack bonus is +1 or higher) as a free action as part of movement.
The character also has the Step Up and Following Step feat, giving him the following ability:
Whenever an adjacent foe attempts to take a 5-foot step away from you, you may also [move up to 10 feet] as an immediate action.
During this 10 foot movement done as an immediate action, can the character draw a weapon as a free action?
Note that I'm specifically interested in answers not citing D&D 3.5 FAQs... I'd rather stick to Pathfinder rules and clarifications from Paizo.