21

In light of the revelation that an Instrument of the Bards requires a spell with a material component to be used, what spells can it actually be used on?

Rubiksmoose
  • 94,696
  • 21
  • 483
  • 580
Speedkat
  • 8,147
  • 1
  • 23
  • 56

3 Answers3

27

The November 2018 DMG errata replaces the last paragraph of the old description with:

You can play the instrument while casting a spell that causes any of its targets to be charmed on a failed saving throw, thereby imposing disadvantage on the save. This effect applies only if the spell has a somatic or a material component.

The means that a spell qualifies if all of the following conditions are met:

  1. The spell causes the Charmed condition

  2. The spell calls for a saving throw which, if failed, inflicts the charm effect

  3. The spell has a material and/or somatic component

The spells meeting these 3 conditions currently are:

  • Animal friendship

  • Charm monster

  • Charm person

  • Crown of madness

  • Dominate beast

  • Dominate monster

  • Dominate person

  • Hypnotic pattern

  • Modify memory

V2Blast
  • 49,864
  • 10
  • 220
  • 304
Rubiksmoose
  • 94,696
  • 21
  • 483
  • 580
  • 1
    One could be even more specific and say the the spell requires a non-costly material component that is not consumed (since foci cannot replace material components with a cost, or components that are consumed on casting) – Adam Apr 18 '18 at 19:31
  • 2
    The instrument does also specify that spells cast from the instrument or when the instrument is used as a spellcasting focus are affected, but the only spell any version of the instruments offers which causes anyone to be Charmed is... Animal Friendship, again. Access to a few more spells is pretty useful of course but one can't help but feel that this secondary aspect of the instrument's power was not really thought through at all... – Carcer Apr 18 '18 at 21:19
9

As of the November 2018 DMG Errata:

Instrument of the Bards (p. 176). The final paragraph is replaced with the following: “You can play the instrument while casting a spell that causes any of its targets to be charmed on a failed saving throw, thereby imposing disadvantage on the save. This effect applies only if the spell has a somatic or a material component.”

There is no longer a requirement that the instrument be used as the focus, and it works as long as there is a somatic or material component. While the character still needs to be a bard to attune it, it can be used with non-bard spells.

Based on a quick filter on D&D Beyond, the list appears to be:

  • Animal Friendship
  • Charm Monster
  • Charm Person
  • Crown of Madness
  • Dominate Beast
  • Dominate Monster
  • Dominate Person
  • Hypnotic Pattern
  • Modify Memory

Some of the spells under that same search (not listed above) are there because they cure or suppress the charmed condition. Of those that aren't curatives, a few others don't make muster for use with an Instrument for other reasons:

  • Awaken imposes charmed, but has no save.
  • Compulsion, Suggestion, and Mass Suggestion don't actually impose the charmed condition, despite un-charmable people being immune.
  • Geas only has a verbal component.

Suggestion actually doesn't appear at all on that search, but Mass Suggestion does. That indicates there may be a problem in the site's indexing functions, so there may be other spells that reference the Charmed condition that aren't being found.

V2Blast
  • 49,864
  • 10
  • 220
  • 304
T.J.L.
  • 48,527
  • 8
  • 185
  • 233
-4

A casting of hypnotic pattern that imposes disadvantage on the save is entirely worth it. A half dozen opponents suddenly becomes effectively one or two, maybe zero. As powerful as that combo is, what more do you really need?

KorvinStarmast
  • 143,146
  • 34
  • 471
  • 760
Baal
  • 1
  • 1
  • 4
    Welcome to RPG.SE. Please take the tour to see how a Q&A site in the SE format is different from a discussion forum. Also, please take a look at how to write a good answer. You've got a good start, please follow through with those guidelines in mind. – KorvinStarmast Dec 19 '18 at 13:44
  • 1
    While I don't completely disagree, this doesn't answer the question and feels more like a comment. – NotArch Dec 19 '18 at 14:34