3

I was wondering: when casting multiple spells per turn, does the leveled spell need to be cast first?

The PHB reads:

Bonus Action

A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

The way it sounds is that, if you cast a spell with a casting time of 1 Bonus Action, you can't cast another spell this turn, unless it is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 Action.

But why couldn't I simply cast my cantrip first, and then a spell with casting time of 1 Bonus Action?

Philipp
  • 12,056
  • 1
  • 32
  • 66

1 Answers1

15

The order of casting does not change the rules. You could cast a bonus action spell (like Misty Step) after casting another spell, or before: but you can't cast another spell during the same turn you cast a bonus action spell, unless it is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

This means that you could cast a 1 action cantrip and then a bonus action Misty step, or a bonus action Misty Step and a 1 action cantrip. But if you've cast a 1 action fireball, you couldn't then cast the bonus action Misty Step. And if you've cast Misty Step, you couldn't then cast Fireball.

Gandalfmeansme
  • 38,167
  • 8
  • 157
  • 200